Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

15 June 2017

The Rt Hon David Gauke MP has been appointed Secretary of State for Work and Pensions. He was elected the Conservative MP for Hertfordshire South West in May 2005.

David Gauke has previously had a significant impact on tax policy since first becoming a member of the Treasury Select Committee in February 2006, followed by appointment to a Shadow Minister for the Treasury in June 2007.

As a Shadow Treasury Minister, he focused on tax policy, including matters such as tax simplification and corporation tax reform. He was appointed Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury in May 2010, and promoted to Financial Secretary to the Treasury in July 2014 where he served until July 2016.

He served as Chief Secretary to the Treasury from July 2016 to June 2017.

Damian Hinds MP and Penny Mordaunt MP return to the DWP where they have been since their appointment on 15 July 2015.

Full details of Ministers and management at DWP can be found at GOV.UK