Winners of 13th CIPP Annual Excellence Awards announced

07 October 2016

Winners of the 13th CIPP Excellence Awards celebrated last night at the Celtic Manor Resort in Wales.

Now in their 13th year, the awards were established to recognise individuals and organisations in the industry who demonstrate payroll and/or pensions excellence, and their positive impact on the UK economy.

Ken Pullar, CEO of the CIPP, commented: “Once again, this year’s entrants have been outstanding. Every year we see the quality of candidates get better and better which is testament to the great work the pensions and payroll industry does.”

This year’s winners were chosen by seven judges from across the payroll and pensions industry; namely:

  • Cara Wright MCIPPdip, Payroll and pensions manager, St George’s University of London
  • Chris Tidy MCIPPdip, Payroll manager, Hiscox PLC
  • Helen Harvey MCIPPdip, Director, Zinnia Payroll Consultants Ltd.
  • John Nolan MCIPPdip, Payroll and benefits manager, Schroder Investment Management Ltd
  • Liz Robins ACIPP, Managing partner, AS Robins
  • Maggie Anderson, Head of employer engagement and strategy, HMRC
  • Pete Statham MSc FCIPP, Payroll manager, Morris Homes

The 2016 award winners were:

The CIPP payroll temp of the year - awarded by Portfolio Payroll

Phillip Hearn - has been truly outstanding in their role and exceeded employer expectations.

The CIPP payroll and reward professional of the year

Loraine Scrimshire, SD Worx UK Limited – For improving employee engagement and morale within their team. Their nomination describes them as “a true payroll professional and great mentor to colleagues.

Highly commended – Ian Hodson MCIPPdip

The CIPP payroll software product of the year

NGA Human Resources (NGA ResourceLink) – have made significant enhancements designed with users and employers in mind as well as using responsive design and learning videos whilst improving the overall navigation and predictive analytics and automation.

Highly commended – MHR and Cintra HR & Payroll Services

The CIPP project of the year

Admiral Insurance – this project looked beyond the day to day operations of payroll and pensions, and looked at how payroll could educate their staff on all things financial including, savings, pensions, childcare costs and buying a house.

Highly commended – Equiniti

The CIPP In-house payroll team of the year

Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust – demonstrated that it is committed to improving service delivery through initiatives such as implementing a new structure to include expenses within payroll, introducing comprehensive working guides and much more.

Highly commended – Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust

The CIPP caring employer award

SD Worx UK Limited – demonstrated how their health and wellbeing strategy linked to the overall strategy and success of the organisation. As a result their employee engagement has increased by 9% in two years and they have 92% staff retention.

Highly commended – Arrow Electronics Ltd

The CIPP payroll giving award

EE – has truly recognised that the secret to a successful payroll giving scheme is engagement and engages with their geographically separated employees through different methods from face to face at roadshows, online or with a payroll giving appeal. As a result their employees donate over £16,000 every month!

Highly commended – Capita HR Solutions

The CIPP International payroll provider of the year

NES Global Talent – effectively demonstrated that they have implemented a thorough induction process which includes mentoring and system training. Our congratulations go to a provider which the judges referred to as ‘truly global’

Highly commended – Blick Rothenburg

The CIPP payroll service provider of the year

NGA Human Resources – demonstrated that they have a robust induction and ongoing training programme which ensures that they are able to deliver excellent customer service as well as ensuring compliance for their clients. 

Highly commended – Cintra HR & Payroll Services

The CIPP working partnership award 2016 - Awarded by the CIPP policy and research team

John Whiting - his ability to engage with his audience, to draw out their thoughts and suggestions with humour. We thank him for all the hard work he has done over the last six years

The CIPP lifetime achievement award 2016 - pensions - awarded by the CIPP board of directors

Bryan Monkman FCIPP - has provided the qualifications team and CIPP pension students support and advice through his career with the CIPP as well as assisting the CIPP in developing the pensions qualification provision as it is today through the Foundation Degree in Pensions Administration and Management.

The CIPP lifetime achievement award 2016 - payroll - awarded by the CIPP board of directors

Norman Green FCIPP - has given support, guidance and advice, not only to the many students he has steered through our qualifications, and this support precedes the current qualifications, but also to members of the Board.

Honorary fellow

Alan Muir MCIPPdip - went on to become one of the first two tutors in Scotland. Since then, apart from continuing to be a tutor he has performed a number of roles for the institute, serving as our representative on some of the government consultation panels in Scotland.

Honorary fellow

Vince Linnane - has been an advocate for pensions for over 30 years, working for the Pensions Management Institute in various capacities for 32 years, the latter ten as their former chief executive.  In 2016 alone he has been awarded the Professional Pensions lifetime achievement award, and the Pensions Age pension’s personality of the year. 

Full details following the awards, including photos and comments from the winners, will be provided in the November issue of Professional in Payroll, Pensions and Reward.  Nominations for the 14 Annual Excellence Awards, taking place on the 5 October, will open March 2017. Email to express your interest and receive details early.


Take part in the conversation