Acas equality and discrimination guides

04 August 2015

Three new guides have been published by Acas with practical advice to help employers follow the law on equality and discrimination.

The new Equality guides focus on:

  • Understanding the basics
  • Preventing discrimination
  • Discrimination: what to do if it happens

Acas also has guidance on the nine protected characteristics included in the Equality Act 2010 which employers need to know about so they don’t discriminate against their employees or job applicants. The characteristics are:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

As well as guidance, Acas has Equality and diversity e-learning to help you get your equality policies and practices right.