New Vice Chair announced for the CIPP

03 March 2020

The Chartered Institute of Payroll Professionals (CIPP) has today (2 March) announced that Liz Lay MSc FCIPPdip FHEA ACIPD has been appointed Vice Chair.

Liz has been a non-executive director on the CIPP board since 2017 and was elected as Vice Chair in February 2020, she will serve as Vice Chair until the CIPPs next AGM, taking place March 2021, at which point she will succeed Jason Davenport MCIPP MIoD as Chair.

Being passionate about payroll, payroll education and promoting the profession, Liz believes that she is at the stage of her career where she has a wealth of knowledge, experience and skills that she can bring to the CIPP to positively help uphold member trust, ethical standards and the Institute’s mission.

Liz is currently the Corporate finance and administration manager, UK and Ireland for Aldi Stores Ltd.  Speaking of her appointment and the future of the CIPP, Liz stated: “I am truly honoured to have been voted by the board to the position of Vice Chair and look forward to working alongside Jason Davenport and the rest of the board.  This is an exciting time for the Institute and the wider payroll profession as we look to what the role of payroll will be in years to come and focus our attention to the future of the profession.”

Jason Davenport, Chair of the CIPP board, commented: “Liz brings a wealth of knowledge, skills and expertise to the position of Vice Chair. As a professional working within the private sector, she understands the daily challenges of payroll professionals, and as a tutor, she gains insight into how our students are implementing their learning within their roles. She will be an excellent colleague to work alongside as Vice Chair, and a fantastic successor when my tenure as Chair comes to an end in 2021. I look forward to working closely with Liz over the coming year”

Liz continues to work with the CIPP board of directors, currently:

Jason Davenport MCIPP MIoD, Chair

Cliff Vidgeon BA (Hons) FCIPP CMA ACIS, Institute Secretary

Stuart Hall MCIPPdip

Dianne Hoodless MSc ChFCIPP FHEA

Katie Sharpe ACIPPdip

Clare Warrington MSc FCIPPdip AFHEA