Office of Tax Simplification: new board members announced

02 September 2016

Three new non-executive directors have been appointed to the Board of the Office of Tax Simplification (OTS).

Paul Johnson (Director of the Institute of Fiscal Studies), John Cullinane (Tax Policy Director at the Chartered Institute of Taxation) and Kathleen Russ (Head of Tax at Travers Smith) will provide further guidance, support and breadth of knowledge to the OTS board.

They join existing board members, though Adam Broke, who has been a member of the OTS board since the OTS’s inception, will be stepping down from the board.

The OTS was established in 2010 to provide advice to the Chancellor on simplifying the UK tax system and was made a permanent, independent office of HM Treasury in July 2015. It is being put on a statutory footing in the Finance Bill 2016.

To date, the government has implemented almost 200 OTS recommendations to simplify the tax system.

Read the full press release on GOV.UK.