New Chair appointed to the Office of Tax Simplification

27 February 2019

Kathryn Cearns OBE will be the new Chair of the Office of Tax Simplification (OTS), commencing 18 March 2019. Kathryn succeeds Angela Knight CBE.


Kathryn will chair the OTS board and will lead the OTS as it shapes its strategy and priorities. Kathryn will direct engagement with HM Treasury, HMRC, ministers and Parliament.


Alongside the Tax Director, Bill Dodwell, she will provide independent advice to the Chancellor on simplifying the UK tax system for both businesses and individual taxpayers.


Kathryn joins the OTS with extensive senior level experience in both the public and private sectors, notably as Chair of the Financial Reporting Advisory Board to HM Treasury from 2010 to 2016 and Chair of ICAEW Financial Reporting Committee from 2008 to 2017.


Read the full press release here