Professional bodies approved for tax relief (list 3) updated

30 April 2019


HMRC has updated the list of professional bodies and learned societies (also known as List 3) with tax-deductible fees.


List 3 is updated periodically and includes all bodies approved by the commissioners for HMRC.


During April the following have been added to the list:


  • 100 Women in Finance Association
  • Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management
  • Water Management Association and Vocational Rehabilitation Association
  • Faculty of Sports & Exercise Medicine UK (FSEMUK)
  • The Irish College of General Practitioners (ICGP)
  • Independent Doctors Federation Ltd (IDF)
  • UK Endocrine Pathology Society (UKEPS)
  • Data Management Association UK Ltd (DAMAUK)
  • Rosen Institute (RI)
  • European Sponsorship Association
  • National Register of Public Service Interpreters (NRPSI)
  • Business Architecture Guild
  • UK Magnetics Society
  • The Avon Group
  • Basics of Scotland Ltd

The following have been changed:


  • Public Relations Consultants Association Limited to Public Relations Communications Association
  • Citizen Teaching, Association for (ACT) to Association for Citizen Teaching (ACT)
  • Highways & Transportation Civil Engineers to The Institution of Chartered to Chartered Institution of Highways & Transportation (CIHT)
  • Enforcement Services Association (ESA) to the Civil Enforcement Association (CIVEA)


Professional organisations can apply for approval for tax relief using form P356.